Apple’s WWDC 2014 opening keynote confirmed for June 2nd, could we see new hardware?

WWDC 14 Feature

This morning, Apple has confirmed that the opening keynote address for this year’s Worldwide Developer’s Conference (WWDC) will be kicking off at 10am Pacific Time, Monday June 2nd at the Moscone West center in San Francisco. For those in other time zones, that’s 1pm Eastern or 6pm British Summer Time.

As with most keynote announcements of the past few years, it’s likely Apple will introduce a new version of iOS and OS X, presumably iOS 8 and OS X 10.10. As for what these will feature, we’re not 100% sure. There have been rumors mostly centered around a Healthbook app, as well as a better Maps service and multi-window multitasking for iPads.

Mark Gurman of 9to5Mac also reports that there is a possibility of new hardware at this year’s event. New MacBook Airs are a possibility, with the recent minor refresh and price-drop suggesting a higher-end model is on its way (Retina display anyone?). There’s also been speculation – as always – about an iWatch and Apple TVs. Whether those turn from pipe-dreams to reality is yet to be seen.

We’re almost halfway through 2014, and we’ve not seen any major hardware updates from Apple yet this year. I – for one – would be glad to see some new gear on show at WWDC. At the same time, I wouldn’t be at all surprise if there was nothing. This is Apple. They like to throw curveballs.

Regardless of what is unveiled, we’ll be covering the launch event here at TiP. Stay tuned for coverage, both leading up to and in reaction to the keynote.

Via: 9to5Mac

Tags: , , , , ,