China and 32 other countries finally get iPhone 5

Apple announced the release date for the iPhone 5 in 33 new countries earlier this month, and now – in line with the announcement – Apple has just launched its smartphone in these countries. The most prominent of this 33 strong group is China, that has been speculating the release of the device for a long time now.

However, although the launch of the device’s predecessor – the iPhone 4S – was pretty crazy when it hit Chinese stores earlier this year, the iPhone 5’s launch was pretty relaxed, according to The Wall Street Journal. This could be because of Apple’s new policies to deter scalpers, the snow covering the region, or simply because of lack of interest in the device, it is unclear so far.

As the Wall Street Journal writes:

“Friday’s iPhone 5 launch was notable for a different kind of white: a rare accumulation of fresh snow that blanketed the nearly empty plaza outside the Sanlitun store. 

At 8 am on Friday, when the store opened to hurrahs from employees, only two consumers stood inside a cordon set up by Apple, though they were joined by a desultory snow man someone had made on a bench near the entrance.”

You may already be aware of Apple’s ‘lottery’ style of selling iPhones in several places around the world, probably because of the large amounts of criticism it’s gotten in the past few months. Essentially, customers must enter a ‘lottery’ to win the right to buy their device, which deters scalpers, but makes waiting times hugely long. In-fact, it’s been said in the past that people have more chance of winning the actual lottery than winning the right to buy an iPhone on the day they enter Apple’s own lottery, sounds like fun, right?

The countries that have received the device today are the following: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Grenada, Indonesia, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Macedonia, Malaysia, Moldova, Montenegro, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Taiwan, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela.


Via: Mac Rumors


Tags: , , , , , , ,